School District Has 47 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists for 2017

Students in graduation caps and gowns.The School District of Palm Beach County has 47 semifinalists for the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program, allowing them to continue in the competition for approximately 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth about $33 million.

About 1.6 million high school juniors entered the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2015 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which serves as the initial screen for program entrants. Semifinalists for the program include the highest-scoring entrants in each state.

To become a finalist for a National Merit Scholarship, semifinalists must submit a detailed application, including their academic record, participation in school and community activities, employment and awards and honors received. They also must write an essay and submit a recommendation by a high school official.

Winners of the 2017 National Merit Scholarships will be announced from April through July. Semifinalists from the School District of Palm Beach County include:

Alexander W. Dreyfoos Jr. School of the Arts

• Alexander E. Bendeck
• Matthew S. Nadel
• Michael Wang
• Jack Yan

Atlantic Community H.S.

• Sagar L. Das
• Dayna Goltz
• Sabrina A. Ochoa
• Jordan W. Rosen

Boca Raton Community H.S.

• Katherine Christie
• David J. Faris
• Kathleen T. Fleming
• Susan L. Kerr
• Matthew J. Taddonio
• Yuria Utsumi

Jupiter Community H.S.

• Matthew Albritton
• Jared N. Kushner
• Dianna A. Smith

Olympic Heights Community H.S.

• Jessica A. Diana

Palm Beach Central H.S.

• Matthew J. Petrides

Spanish River Community H.S.

• Daniel A. Giron
• Jason A. Kristol
• Meredith S. Levin

Suncoast Community H.S.

• Ryan T. Ali
• Preethashree Anbukkarasu
• Nathaniel Bannister
• Eleanor A. Brodrick
• Austin Carroll Smith
• Jacqueline Chen
• Sophie C. Fontaine
• Himani Gubbi
• Justin J. Hancock
• Rahel M. Imru
• Meher Kalkat
• Natascha L. Kempfe
• Carl T. Kogstrom
• Jacob E. Magnuson
• Lauren A. Moore
• Thomas J. Mulligan
• Meghana Pandit
• Christina L. Riso
• Sebastian L. Rossello
• Karen L. Sem
• Swochchhanda Shrestha
• Jerry Yang

West Boca Raton Community H.S.

• Evaline K. Jackson

William T. Dwyer H.S.

• Elizabeth B. Araka
• Angela L. Bui