Two District Students Selected as Sunshine State Scholars

Logo - Sunshine State Scholars ConferenceThe Florida Department of Education and the Florida Education Foundation will recognize two of the School District of Palm Beach County’s highest-achieving eleventh grade STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) students at the Sunshine State Scholars conference May 19-20. The two-day conference, presented by Lockheed Martin, celebrates the accomplishments of Florida’s elite students and provides a unique venue for the state’s colleges, universities and employers to recruit their talents.

Matthew Hakkarainen of Alexander W. Dreyfoos Jr. School of the Arts and Gianluca Tartaro of Boca Raton Community High School  will join other STEM scholars from around the State of Florida at the conference, attending workshops designed to help them prepare for their transition to college, listening to guest speakers from organizations such as Microsoft and SeaWorld, and interfacing with representatives from Florida’s leading colleges and universities.

The Sunshine State Scholar Program was founded in 1997 through the efforts of the Florida Department of Education, the Florida Education Foundation, and Florida’s colleges and universities. The goals of this Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) program are to recognize student achievement and to increase the number of students with outstanding mathematics and science credentials who choose to attend Florida colleges and universities.