Science and Engineering Fair Shows Off the Future Researchers of the World

Hundreds of parents and coordinators packed the auditorium of Santaluces High School for the 2012 Palm Beach Regional Science and Engineering Fair Awards that took place on Thursday, December 13, 2012. The excitement of watching the students receive their 1st through 4th place awards was overwhelming. Dozens of the special awards that were given to the students were sponsored by various community partners that believe in the talent of Palm Beach County students. 

“These are the students that will become the researchers who find the cure for cancer, develop new technologies that solve the energy crisis, and make the world a better place in more ways than there is space to name,” added Gregory Goebel, Science Program Planner. 

The competition was particularly stiff this year which made the selection of the top 40 projects across all categories extremely difficult.  These 40 projects will be entered into Florida’s 58th Annual State Science and Engineering Fair (SSEF) being held in Lakeland, FL from March 26 – 28, 2013. 

Junior Achievement of the Palm Beaches and Treasure Coast will be awarding each SSEF participant with a cash award of at least $100.00.  Scripps FL will be awarding each student with a medal and gift card to The Gardens Mall when they showcase their projects there on CELLebrate Science Day on February 2, 2013.  

The 40 SSEF invitees from the Palm Beach Regional Science and Engineering Fair are as follows: 

Junior Division (Grades 6-8)

Rachel Caspar – Jupiter MS

Austin Consagra – Wellington Landings MS

Bahar Daryaee – Saint Juliana Catholic School

Brittany Duffey – Loggers’ Run MS

Ray Jia – Loggers’ Run MS

Edwin Kling – Jeaga MS

Lindsay Maclachlan – Independence MS

Madison McCue – Bak MSOA

Sarah Palumbo – Eagles Landing MS

Logan Perkins – St. Mark’s Episcopal School

Julia Raymond – Rosarian Academy

Rachel Reyblat – Omni MS


Senior Division (Grades 9-12)

Sarah Barden – A.W. Dreyfoos SOA

Catherine Chen – A.W. Dreyfoos SOA

Anthony Coons – American Heritage School

Daniel Dufresne – Palm Beach Central HS

Carle Dugan – Palm Beach Central HS

Savannah Flak – A.W. Dreyfoos SOA

Goda Graudinis – Palm Beach Central HS

Maria Elena Grimmett – Oxbridge Academy

Anuradha Gulati – Suncoast HS

Jessica Hamorsky – A.W. Dreyfoos SOA

Ximena Hasbach – A.W. Dreyfoos SOA

Joshua Hellerstein – Suncoast HS

Sylvie Hyman – Spanish River HS

Tristin Jones – American Heritage School

Alexandra Kaye – Palm Beach Lakes HS

Elizabeth Le – Palm Beach Central HS

Christine Leeds – Palm Beach Central HS

Ryan Meingasner – Seminole Ridge HS

Alex Naum – Palm Beach Central HS

Gray Newfield – Oxbridge Academy

Anthony Olive – Palm Beach Central HS

Andrew O’Neill – Suncoast HS

Leah Parker – Forest Hill HS

Blayke Polselli – Suncoast HS

Zachary Solloway – Park Vista HS

Alexander Todor – Suncoast HS

Christopher Wan – A.W. Dreyfoos SOA

Paul Wassel – Seminole Ridge HS


Click here to see the list of ALL winners on the county science fair website. 

“We would like to thank all of our sponsors for contributing to our efforts of rewarding students for excellence in science.  We welcome future contributions from individuals or groups that would like to encourage students to continue to explore science and develop research techniques,” said Mr. Goebel. 

For more information, contact Gregory Goebel, 6-12 Science Program Planner, at 561-357-1128 or







 Public Affairs Contact: Natalia Arenas – (561) 357-7662 –