clip_image002

The Department of Safe Schools

McKinney-Vento Program (MVP)

Building a Movement to End Homelessness

09c7c30The National Coalition for the Homeless

About Our MVP Team

Our MVP team is made up of social service and education professionals who work to address problems often faced by children experiencing homelessness and youth enrolling, attending, and succeeding in school. The District's Homeless Liaison coordinates the efforts of the MVP team and ensures compliance with the McKinney-Vento Assistance Act, as well as other federal and state education mandates regarding homeless students.

The mission of the MVP team is to work collaboratively with all stakeholders to remove barriers to successful outcomes for homeless students.

MVP Team Responsibilities

The MVP team is charged with responding to the needs of children experiencing homelessness. Some of the Team's core responsibilities are listed below.

  • Inform parents, guardians, or youth of their educational rights
  • Link homeless students with educational and other services
  • Alert parents, guardians, or youth of academic tutoring programs

  • Provide school supplies, including school uniforms and toiletries
  • Coordinate District transportation services to maintain home school stability
  • Ensure that free school breakfast and lunch is provided
  • Attend School Based Team meetings
  • Provide outreach services to students living in temporary residences
  • Facilitate parent engagement in each child's schooling
  • Provide assistance for AP, IB, SAT, and ACT fees
  • Collaborate with District personnel and community agencies

School site personnel work collaboratively with the MVP team to provide the supports listed above in an efficient and seamless manner to ensure that our children experiencing homelessness are provided full and equal opportunity for success in school, including preschool.

Who is Eligible for Services?

If, due to a loss of housing, you must live in a shelter, motel, vehicle, or campground; on the street; in abandoned buildings; or doubled-up with relatives or friends; then you are eligible to receive services provided under the McKinney-Vento Act. Unaccompanied youth experiencing homelessness are also eligible for services under the McKinney-Vento Act. Feel free to contact any of the MVP contacts listed at the bottom of this page if you have questions regarding McKinney-Vento Act services.

Visit the Links Below for More Information

Our Contact Information

June Eassa, Director
june.eassa@palmbeachschools.org
(561) 494-1569
G. Horacio Ochoa
Office, Enrollment, Eligibility, McK-V Transportation
gustavo.ochoa@palmbeachschools.org
(561) 494-1514
Kelly Mullen, Program Planner
kelly.mullen@palmbeachschools.org
(561) 494-1511
Beth Lefler, Specialist
Homeless Liaison
beth.lefler@palmbeachschools.org
(561) 494-1547
Rakisha Morris, Specialist
Academic Supports
rakisha.morris@palmbeachschools.org
(561) 494-1549
Laura Shoemaker, Specialist
Foster Care Liaison
laura.shoemaker@palmbeachschools.org
(561) 494-1449

 

Angela Williams
Tutorial Program Coordinator
angela.williams.2@palmbeachschools.org
(561) 494-1596 or (561) 876-3058
Ann Guarino, Case Manager
South Region 
 
ann.guarino@palmbeachschools.org
(561) 982-0934 or (561) 670-1189
Dante Ferrell, Case Manager 
South Region
dante.ferrell@palmbeachschools.org
(561) 381-2621 or (561) 876-4064
Nancy Ruiz, Case Manager
Central Region
nancy.ruiz@palmbeachschools.org
(561) 202-0549  or (561) 293-6715
Rory Butler, Case Manager
Central Region
rory.butler@palmbeachschools.org
(561) 494-1540 or (561) 876-1251
Tangela Price, Case Manager
Central/North Region
tangela.price@palmbeachschools.org
(561) 681-3747 or (561) 209-4660
Tamara Armaly, Case Manager 
North Region
tamara.armaly@palmbeachschools.org
(561) 494-1540 or (561) 644-1267
Vernell Williams-Desrosier, Case Manager
Glades Region
vernell.williams-desrosier@palmbeachschools.org
(561) 829-4632 or (561) 951-6667
Kelli Kuzniar, UHY Case Manager
All Regions
kelli.kuzniar@palmbeachschools.org
(561) 640-5073 or (561) 889-4792

 

Please CLICK HERE to help our students experiencing homelessness.

OR

Mail your donation to:

Education Foundation PBC, Inc.

3300 Forest Hill Blvd., Bldg. E, Suite 50-116

West Palm Beach, FL 33406

Make your check payable to Education Foundation, and please write "Heart/SIS" in the memo line.