Five Star

What is the purpose of the Five Star School Award?

Five Stars

The Five Star Award designates and recognizes schools that have total community involvement.  There are five separate areas which cumulatively create a school deserving of this recognition.  The areas that encompass this award are: Community/Business Partnership, Family Involvement, Volunteers, Student Community Service, and School Advisory Council.  The criteria set out in each area are reasonable, although some are tougher than others.  However, all requirements set high expectations for exemplary achievement.  The Five Star School Award is a prestigious distinction that is highly desirable in the community and in all school districts throughout the State

What is the incentive for the Five Star School Award?

Five Stars

Schools that receive the Five Star School Award will be designated annually, in the fall, reflecting the achievement of the preceding year. It is intended that the celebration of this achievement at the beginning of the traditional school year be a positive way to start the year.  The Five Star School Award designation spotlights the value the school places on community involvement and the school's commitment to such. Further, recipients of the Five Star School Award will always receive a certificate of designation from the state, along with the prestige of the highest possible rating from the Department of Education. Palm Beach County holds a "Five Star Reception" to honor school recipients where they are presented with a certificate and a Five Star flag to display proudly at their school.